Christian Van Vliet Kathleen Glowach, Yellowknife
Aimee Yurris, Yellowknife Zabrina Pierrot


Investing in the next Generation of Leaders

Leaders aren't born, they are made. They are made by hard effort, which is the price all of us must pay to achieve any goal which is worthwhile.” – Vince Lombardi, famous football coach.
Yellowknife, August 25, 2014 –“Sports are a lot like business.

You have to map out a game plan, execute and compete every day,” said Allen Stanzell, President of the NWT Chamber of Commerce.  “That’s why we believe our 2014 recipients are the business leaders of tomorrow.”

Christian Van Vliet, Inuvik, Bachelor of Commerce, Sauder Business School, BC – $2,500;
Kathleen Glowach, Yellowknife, Bachelor of Commerce, St. Mary’s University, NS – $2,500;
Zabrina Pierrot, Fort Simpson, Keyin College, NL – $500; and
Aimee Yurris, Yellowknife, Holland College, PEI – $500.

The scholarship selection committee reviewed 26 well-qualified applicants; 15 from Yellowknife and 11 from around the NWT.

“There wasn’t a lot separating the top five,” said Stanzell.  “It was so close that the Board decided to award two additional $500 meritorious awards in addition to our $2,500 awards.”

The committee was impressed with the path that each recipient has chosen to bring their goals to life.  It was evident from transcripts and work and community experience that each recipient is highly motivated and success-oriented, qualities that will serve them well in future endeavours.

Christian Van Vliet has been accepted into the Bachelor of Commerce program at the prestigious Sauder School of Business, UBC.  He also received the Beckett Business Centre’s Award in Inuvik this year, which is given to the high school graduate who shows the most promise in the world of business.  Christian helped launch two businesses in Inuvik.

Katie Glowach is heading back to St. Mary’s University for her final year in pursuit of a Bachelor of Commerce degree.  To date, she has achieved an overall Grade Point Average of 3.94 and has been named to the Dean’s List.  This year Katie will complete a double major in Finance and Computing & Information Systems.

Zabrina Pierrot is entering her first year in Business Management / Human Resource Management at Keyin College, NL.  She has already earned a diploma in Adventure Tourism from the Canadian Tourism College in Vancouver and on graduation from Keyin intends to start an adventure tourism business in the Sahtu where she spent her early years.

Aimee Yurris is enrolled Culinary Arts at Holland College, regarded by many as the premier culinary school in Canada.  In 2013 Aimee finished fourth at the national Skills Canada Competition, one of Team NWT’s best showings.  Aimee’s ambition is to open a bakery or catering company in the North.

“These young people have excelled in school, in the community and personally.  They plan to return to the NWT and make a contribution to the economy.  They are our future business leaders,” said Stanzell.


For more information contact:
Mike Bradshaw
Executive Director
867 920 9505

NWT Chamber of Commerce Scholarship Winners
Year Recipients Residency
2014 Christian Van Vliet
Kathleen Glowach
Aimee Yurris
Zabrina Pierrot
Fort Simpson
2013 Madison Gray 
Belinda Blackduck
Natalie Westman
Norman Wells
2012 Samantha Marriott
Michelle Lavoie 
2011 Agamani Chakrabarty Yellowknife
2010 Robyn Mantla Yellowknife
2009 Shermayn Menicoche Fort Simpson
2008 Gregory Matthews  Yellowknife
2007 Doreen Farrants Hay River
2006 Lisa Radicchi Yellowknife
2005 Sarah True  Fort Smith
2004 Doreen Apples  Gameti


Community Chambers